Quick Links
Skip to main contentSkip to navigation

Wahoo Public Schools


Ajax Loading Image


Congratulations WHS students who earned "Best Actor" awards at the Dec. 1 District One Act competition (from left): Cadence Bailar, Sydney Barnes, Dawson Rafteseth, and Sam DuBois. Not pictured: Olivia Scott.

2020 Warrior One Act takes runner-up at B-2 District

Five students recognized as 'Best Actors'; Tech crew receives top award

Wahoo High School's One Act Play Production cast and crew were the runners-up and received a 'Superior' rating at the District B-2 One Act Play Production contest at North Bend on Tuesday, Dec. 1.

Wahoo received the award for Best Tech Crew. Members of the tech crew include: Benny Krivanek, Logan Scott, Kiah Smith, Zach Sanderson, Sydney Roucka, Mikala Cuda, and Gabbie Raney.

Selected Best Actors were Olivia Scott, Sam DuBois, Cadence Bailar, Sydney Barnes, and Dawson Rafteseth.

Congratulations students who earned 2020 "Best Tech Crew" honors in District B-2 One Act, top row (from left): Benjamin Krivanek, Logan Scott, Kiah Smith, Mikala Cuda, Myranda Lihs. Front row: Gabbie Raney, Sydney Roucka, Grace Darling.

WHS alum Kate DeCoste is the play's director. WHS English Teacher John Minnick assists DeCoste with the production.

This year's play was "Selfie," written by Bradley Hayward. The plot features eight high school seniors as they prepare for their futures facing bullies, parents, peer pressure, serious illness, and their own self-judgment. As they document their year, one click at a time, they come to realize life is not what other people see; it's about the pictures they have of themselves.

"Selfie" is produced by special arrangement with Playscripts, Inc., of New York City. The play will be available for streaming for free at a later date.

2020 One Act Cast and Crew, top row (from left): Kylie Warford, Sydney Barnes, Logan Scott, Dawson Rafteseth, Sam DuBois, Kiah Smith, Mikala Cuda. Middle row: Sydney Roucka, Gabbie Raney, Cadence Bailar, Hayli Ruble, Grace Darling, Myranda Lihs. Front row: Caleb Malousek, Benjamin Krivanek. Not pictured: Emma Bruce, Cody Bailey, Olivia Scott, Zach Sanderson. 

The cast of characters include:
Nicole, played by Sydney Barnes (Grace Darling understudy)
Zack, played by Sam DuBois (Cody Bailey understudy)
Laura, played by Olivia Scott (Myranda Lihs understudy)
Kaitlyn, played by Cadence Bailar
Tyler, played by Dawson Rafteseth (Logan Scott understudy)
Jessie, played by Emma Bruce (Kylie Warford understudy)
Morgan, played by Caleb Malousek (Logan Scott understudy)
Sam, played by Hayli Ruble (Grace Darling and Jakkie Kahler understudies)

"Selfie" is produced by special arrangement with Playscripts, Inc., of New York City.

Congratulations to the 2020 Warrior One Act cast and tech crew!


2020 Warrior One Act takes runner-up at B-2 District

No comments have been added yet. Please add yours!