Quick Links
Skip to main contentSkip to navigation

Wahoo Public Schools


Ajax Loading Image


Clarence William Anderson

C.W. Anderson Leaves His Mark in Children's Literature and Illustrations

From http://www.equitainment.com.au/:

Clarence William Anderson, born in Nebraska in 1891 and died in 1971, he was a famous horse artist, lithographer, author of many children’s books, poet, and an accomplished rider - he is well known for his love of horses - was a judge of hunters and jumpers by the American Show Association.

Anderson studied at the Art Institute of Chicago and then moved to New York to become a freelance artist. He married poet Madeline Paltenghi. C. W. Anderson started his career by illustrating for authors and eventually began developing texts to his life like black and white drawings. He was a member of the Society of American Etchers and exhibited his prints and continued his art career by authoring and illustrating many books about horses. His works have been displayed in galleries and museums throughout USA.

He wrote over 40 books he will be best known for his series of stories about the adventures of a boy named Billy and his pony , Blaze, first published in 1936, The stories revolve around proper care of the horse, while teaching a lesson.

C.W. Anderson also created covers for the “Saturday Evening Post”. He made his home in Mason, where his wife grew up, and used Mason for his settings, the children of Mason as his subjects and he taught art in school at Mason. Some of the books using Mason as a background are, “Billy and Blaze”, “The Crooked Colt”, “The Lost Quarry”, and “Blaze and the Gypsies”.

Books by C.W. Anderson

  • And So To Bed (1935)
  • Billy and Blaze (1936)
  • Blaze and the Gypsies (1937)
  • Blaze and the Forest Fire (1938)
  • Black Bay and Chestnut (1939)
  • Deep Through the Heart (1940)
  • Salute! (1940)
  • High Courage (1941)
  • Thoroughbreds (1942)
  • Big Red (1943)
  • Heads Up, Heels Down (1944)
  • A Touch of Greatness (1945)
  • All Thoroughbreds (1948)
  • Bobcat (1949)
  • Post Parade (1949)
  • Blaze Finds the Trail (1950)
  • Horses Are Folks (1950)
  • A Pony For Linda (1951)
  • Horse Show (1951)
  • Linda and the Indians (1952)
  • Turf and Blue Grass (1952)
  • The Crooked Colt (1954)
  • The Smashers (1954)
  • Grey, Bay, and Chestnut (1955)
  • Blaze and the Thunderbolt (1955)
  • Colts and Champions (1956)
  • The Horse of Hurricane Hill (1956)
  • Afraid to Ride (1957)
  • Pony for Three (1958)
  • Blaze and the Mountain Lion (1959)
  • A Filly For Joan (1960)
  • Lonesome Little Colt (1961)
  • Complete Book of Horses (1963)
  • Blaze and the Indian Cave (1964)
  • The World of Horses (1965)
  • Before the Bugle (1965)
  • Great Heat (1965)
  • Twenty Gallant Horses (1965)
  • Blaze and the Lost Quarry (1966)
  • Another Man ‘O War (1966)
  • C. W. Andersons Horse Stories (1967)
  • The Outlaw (1967)
  • Blaze and the Gray Spotted Pony (1968)
  • Blaze Shows the Way (1969)
  • The Blind Connemara (1971)


C.W. Anderson Leaves His Mark in Children's Literature and Illustrations

No comments have been added yet. Please add yours!