Regular Meeting Minutes School District #39

March 12, 2012

The Wahoo Board of Education met in regular session on Monday evening, March 12, 2012 at 6:00 p.m. in the Wahoo High School Media Center located at 2201 N Locust Street, Wahoo, Nebraska. Publicized notice was given by publication in the Wahoo Newspaper on March 6, 2012.

The meeting was opened by President Rob Brigham with the following board members answering roll call: Rob Brigham, John Sutton, Eric Gottschalk, Brett Eddie and Steve Vrana. Also present were superintendent, Galen Boldt; secretary, Kris Pokorny; High School Principal, Jason Libal; Middle School Principal, Chris Arent; Director of Learning, Susan Heine, a local patron and the Newspaper Reporter. Elementary Principal, Jane Wiebold and Director of Special Education, Shelley Maass were not able to attend due to a previous commitment. On roll call vote all members present voted yes. Motion carried.

A motion was made by Sutton, seconded by Gottschalk to excuse Mary Ann Tingelhoff. On roll call vote all members present voted yes. Motion carried.

The Board of Education and all participants said the pledge of allegiance.

The Open Meetings Law was brought to the attention of the board and pubic.

It was moved by Vrana, seconded by Eddie to approve the agenda. On roll call vote all members present voted yes. Motion carried.

A motion was made by Sutton, seconded by Eddie to accept the February 20, 2012 minutes and approve payment of the March claims as submitted. On roll call vote all members present voted yes. Motion carried.

The board reviewed the account funds and balances related to the routine business of the school district pertaining to the accounts the district controls.

The Principals, Director of Learning and Superintendent gave informational reports to the board.

The board went over the communications items in the packet.

After much discussion on the Career and Tech Ed Proposal, no action was needed. The Principals will take the proposal back to the committee.

It was moved by Gottschalk, seconded by Vrana to appoint Superintendent Boldt as our representative for grants. On roll call vote all members present voted yes. Motion carried.

A motion was made by Gottschalk, seconded by Sutton to approve having board members, Brett Eddie and Steve Vrana act as the board representatives at this year's graduation ceremony. On roll call vote all members present voted yes. Motion carried.

It was moved by Eddie, seconded by Vrana to ratify the agreement with Trede Electric to replace lights in the gymnasiums and the shop areas in the amount of \$37,365.88 and the grant application to NPPD for a rebate of \$5,010 for energy efficiency upgrades. On roll call vote all members present voted yes. Motion carried.

It was moved by Gottschalk, seconded by Sutton to appoint Kris Pokorny as Secretary to the Board. On roll call vote all members present voted yes. Motion carried.

It was moved by Gottschalk, seconded by Vrana to approve WEA as the local bargaining unit for Wahoo Public School for the 2013-2014 school year. On roll call vote all members present voted yes. Motion carried.

No action was needed on the Policy Review/approval section of the board packet. The board talked about getting the updated policies on the schools website.

No action was needed on the Facilities Report/Projects. Superintendent Boldt is waiting on the designs from JEO for the renovation/remodeling projects. The superintendent talked about the meetings that have been held with staff members on their ideas about what our needs are, how the space currently meets those needs and what improvements we need to make.

The following requests were made for the April meeting:

- A. Close Up Report
- B. Policies
- C. Facilities Projects/Report
- D. Personnel Resignations/hiring
- E. Negotiations

It was moved by Sutton, seconded by Gottschalk to adjourn the meeting at 7:13 p.m. On roll call vote all members present voted yes. Motion carried.

The next regular board meeting will be held on Monday, April 16th at 6:00 in the High School Media Center.

Secretary