Regular Meeting Minutes School District #39

January 21, 2019

The Wahoo Board of Education met in regular session on Monday, January 21, 2019 at 6:00 p.m. in the High School Media Center located at 2201 N. Locust, Wahoo, Nebraska. Publicized notice was given by publication in the <u>Wahoo Newspaper</u> on January 21, 2019 and posted on the schools website and doors.

The Board of Education said the Pledge of Allegiance.

The open meetings law was mentioned and the open meetings law poster is displayed.

New Board member elect, Lora Iversen took the Oath of Office.

The meeting was opened by President Mike Hancock with the following board members answering roll call: Mike Hancock, Lora Iversen, Brett Eddie, Al Grandgenett, Tom Hrdlicka and Rob Brigham. Also present were superintendent, Brandon Lavaley; secretary, Kris Pokorny; Elementary Principal, Ben Kreifels; Director of Student Services, Shelley Maass; Director of Learning, Josh Snyder; the Newspaper Reporter, CEO students Jordan Thorsen, Emily Pokorny, Abbie Klein and Katie Borchers, and High School Counselor, John Harris and many patrons,.

High School Principal, Jarred Royal and Middle Principal/Athletic Director, Marc Kaminski were absent due to school events.

A motion was made by Mike Hancock, seconded by Brett Eddie to elect Rob Brigham for Board President, Al Grandgenett for Board Vice President, Brett Eddie for Board Treasure and Lora Iversen for Board Secretary. On roll call vote all members present voted yes. Motion carried. New board of education officers are:

President Rob Brigham
Vice President Al Grandgenett
Treasurer Brett Eddie
Secretary Lora Iversen

A motion was made by Hancock, seconded by Hrdlicka to approve the agenda. On roll call vote all members present voted yes. Motion carried.

A motion was made by Hancock, seconded by Grandgenett to approve the regular meeting minutes of December 17, 2018 as presented. On roll call vote all members present voted yes. Motion carried.

It was moved by Iversen, seconded by Hancock to approve payment of the January 2019 claims with the exception of the DLR claim and Eddie Lawn Service claims. On roll call vote all members present voted yes. Motion carried.

It was moved by Grandgenett, seconded by Hancock to approve payment of the DLR claim in the amount of \$156.18. On roll call vote, Grandgenett, yes; Eddie, yes; Iversen, yes; Hrdlicka, yes; Hancock, yes; and Brigham, abstain. Motion carried.

A motion was made by Grandgenett, seconded by Hancock to approve payment of the Eddie Lawn Service claim in the amount of \$6,480.00. On roll call vote, Grandgenett, yes; Eddie, abstain; Iversen, yes; Hrdlicka, yes; Hancock, yes and Brigham, yes. Motion carried.

The Board reviewed the account funds and balances related to the routine business of the school district pertaining to the accounts the district controls.

CEO students, Jordon Thorson, Emily Pokorny, Abbie Klein, and Katie Borchers gave a presentation on their recent CEO experience along with High School Counselor, John Harris.

The Principals, Director of Learning, Director of Student Services, and Superintendent gave informational reports to the board.

The board went over the communications items in the packet.

Audience members, Joe Egler, Bob Bartek and Curtis Havelka addressed the board regarding building issues.

It was moved by Hancock, seconded by Grandgenett to approve the 2019-2020 WEA negotiated agreement as presented. On roll vote all members present voted yes. Motion carried.

A motion was made by Iversen, seconded by Hrdlicka to approve policies 410.06, 411.01, 411.03, 412, 412.01, 412.03, 413.01, 413.02, and 413.04 on second reading. On roll call vote all members present voted yes. Motion carried.

It was moved by Hrdlicka seconded by Hancock to approve the new officers as the new signatories for the District bank accounts. On roll call vote all members present voted yes. Motion carried.

Superintendent Lavaley was given the task of getting some more information from the firms that sent in their RFP for the Community Engagement proposal.

A motion was made by Hancock, seconded by Eddie to approve the resignations of Elementary Special Education teacher, Valerie Lindgren and Middle School Science teacher Susan Cherrington. The board thanks these teachers for their service to the students or Wahoo Public Schools and wishes them the best. On roll call vote all members present voted yes. Motion carried.

The following requests were made for the February meeting.

- A. Board Committee assignments
- B. RFP for Community Engagement
- C. 2019-2020 School Calendar
- D. Middle School Science Curriculum
- E. Policies
- F. Personnel- resignations/hiring's

A motion was made by Hancock, seconded by Eddie to adjourn the meeting at 7:09. On roll call vote all members present voted yes. Motion carried.

Lora Iversen Secretary